Executive Powers

Chapter II - The Executive Government

61. Executive power

The executive power of the Commonwealth is vested in the Queen and is exercisable by the Governor-General as the Queen's representative, and **extends to the execution and maintenance of this Constitution, and of the laws of the Commonwealth.**

While s 61 vests executive power in the Governor-General as the Queen's representative, the Governor-General exercises almost all power on the advice of government ministers, as Governor-General in council.

Powers of the executive government are divided into four categories:

- 1. Prerogative powers of the Crown (as accorded by the common law)
- 2. The nationhood power (derived from Australia's status as a sovereign nation)
- 3. Power conferred by Statute (not generally examinable)
- 4. Capacities of contracting and spending

Source of Executive Power

The power of the executive branch of government is derived from four sources:

- 1. Section 61 of the Constitution
- 2. Commonwealth legislation
- 3. Common law prerogative powers
- 4. Australia's status as a sovereign nation state

Limits on Executive Power



Plaintiff M68/2015 v Minister for Immigration and Border Protection (2016)

The nature and scope of federal executive power was considered in *Plaintiff M68/2015* (2016)



Prerogative Power

Prerogative powers refer to discretionary powers of the Crown established by common law



The prerogative power can be divided into three categories:



Cadia Holdings Pty Ltd v New South Wales (2010)





Ruddock v Vadarlis (Tampa Case) (2001)

